Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

Good things happen when you narrow your focus
Welcome to Conference

Write us on

Follow Us

Image Alt


What you didn’t know about Groene Peper

Groene Peper launched its first and also online edition together with Van Hall Larenstein on Monday, May 25 through Friday, May 29, 2020.
The program committee in 2024 consists of: Students for Tomorrow, ROC Amsterdam, The Green Brain, Rijksdienst voor Ondernemend Nederland, Ministry EZK and Ministry OWC. In addition, each year the contact person(s) of the host takes an active place in the program committee. These parties determine the program and together with the event manager a Groene Peper is organized each year. In addition, SURF supports in the background by, for example, hosting the website.

Before Groene Peper
Before Groene Peper, this event was called: The National Day for Sustainability in Higher Education. Or quickly: NDDHO. NDDHO was 5 years old, but saw the light of day much earlier, back in the 1990s! Only in a different form. In fact, did you know that the first Sustainable Higher Education Day took place on December 8 in 1998? Back then it was organized by DHO (Sustainable Higher Education) and was about sustainability in the broadest sense of the word. DHO organized the event through 2009. Whereas DHO first organized the event on its own, that changed in 2010.


Joint Event

SURF, Rijksdienst voor Ondernemend Nederland, and DHO joined forces and organized the first Green IT Symposium on November 25th, 2010. Due to its great success, it became an annual event. In 2014, the SustainaBul award ceremony was added, and instead of January, the event moved to May.


The first NDDHO

In the 2015 edition, the program committee was expanded with board members of Studenten voor Morgen. This ensured that the organization was also secured from a student perspective. From 2015, the name changed from Green IT Symposium & SustainaBul award ceremony to the National Day for Sustainability in Higher Education.


Hosts over the years

2022: Hogeschool van Amsterdam
2021: Yuverta, mbo Tilburg (formerly Helicon)
2020: Van Hall Larenstein, Velp
2019: Avans Hogeschool, Breda
2018: Eindhoven University of Technology
2017: Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
2016: The Hague University of Applied Sciences, The Hague